

UNITED STATES CURLING ASSOCIATION Board of Directors Meeting November 1, 2022 Teleconference

Approved November 14, 2022

- 1. **Call to Order** Having no Chair or Vice-Chair available the Secretary calls the meeting to order at 7:03 pm ET, November 1, 2022.
- 2. Roll call

Board Members

Present – Jeff Annis, Terri Gleason, Darrly Horsman, Bret Jackson, Roger Smith, John Benton, Colin Hufman, Patrick McDonald, Tracy Lawless.

Absent - Alex Agre.

Quorum - Nine being present in total and five being required, we have a quorum.

Non-Board

Committee Members -

Staff/Non-Board Executives – Dean Gemmell (Interim CEO), Gordon Maclean (Secretary, recording)

Guests -.

- 3. The Secretary calls for nominations for a Chair Pro Tem. Annis nominates Gleason as Chair Pro Tem, Horsman seconds. The follows a brief discussion regarding the meaning of the office of Chair Pro Tem. The board understands that the Chair Pro Tem serves until a permanent Chair is elected. Gleason is elected Chair Pro Tem by unanimous consent.
- 4. **Appointment of Parliamentarian** The Chair Pro Tem appoints Gordon Maclean as Parliamentarian.
- 5. There is no formal Agenda for the meeting, but the required first order of business is to elect a new Board Chair.
- 6. McDonald nominates Benton for the position of Chair. Benton declines the nomination. McDonald withdraws the nomination.
- 7. Gleason nominates Jackson for Chair, Smith seconds the nomination.
 - a. Question if Jackson is interested. Jackson indicates that he has some capacity to perform the duties of the position and has ideas about what needs to be done. Optimistic about the future.
 - b. The board enters a discussion with Jackson regarding his thoughts on the organization and leadership of the organization and the requirement that the organization serves the needs of both the national program athletes and the recreational athletes. Jackson summarizes his background serving on boards of other non-profit organizations.
 - c. Jackson is asked to leave the meeting so the board can discuss his potential as Chair.
 - d. Jackson returns to the meeting.
 - e. Jackson recuses himself from voting. Jackson is elected on a unanimous voice vote.
- 8. The Chair Pro Tem hands the meeting over to the new Chair.

- The Chair emphasizes that this meeting's experience highlights the necessity for having a Vice-Chair.
 Jackson nominates Hufman for the position of Vice-Chair, Lawless seconds. Nominations closed.
 Hufman leaves.
 - a. Hufman indicates that he is willing to serve. Hufman indicates that he is. Nominations are closed. Jackson expresses support for Colin. Hufman is asked to leave the meeting so the board can discuss his potential as Vice-Chair.
 - b. Hufman returns to the meeting.
 - c. Hufman recuses himself from voting. Hufman is elected on a unanimous voice vote.
- 10. The Chair presents a list of items to discuss.
 - a. Independent director seats discussed. This is an opportunity to fill specific needs for the organization. Having no independent directors, we need to be actively engaged in searching for individuals that meet these needs.
 - b. Member-elected director seats discussed.
 - c. Gemmell has been reaching out to GNCC to begin the process that brings them back inside the organization. This is the time to reach out. Extensive discussion on past framing of the situation and how we address this moving forward.
 - d. Gemmell will hold a Town Hall later in the week.
 - e. As an organization we need to listen.
- 11. A task list will be coming from Gemmell and Jackson.
- 12. Gemmell summarized his discussions with Eric Gleason (CFO) regarding assumptions built into the FY23 budget and some changes he is looking to make. He has also been in discussions with other NGBs regarding alternative membership models that others use.
- 13. Committee vacancies were highlighted.
- 14. Next Board Meeting TBD.
- 15. Adjourn Motion to adjourn by Horsman, seconded by Annis, meeting adjourns at 8:15pm ET.

Post Meeting Addendum:

The Secretary acknowledges receipt of letters of resignation from the following board members: Steve Birklid dated 10/24/22 effective immediately
Shane Coppola dated 10/31/22 effective immediately
Lynn LaRocca dated 10/31/22 effective immediately
Hawley MacLean dated 10/31/22 effective immediately