

UNITED STATES CURLING ASSOCIATION Board of Directors Meeting June 9, 2015 Teleconference

DRAFT pending Board Approval v20150705

Call to Order

Board Chair Carlson Assigns Chris Sjue to be Chair Pro Tem for this meeting. Chair Pro Tem calls the meeting to order at 3:00pm CDT.

1. Roll call

Present- Jeff Hannon, Nick Kitinski, Rich Lepping, Jim Pleasants, Courtney Schmidt, Sean Silver, Chris Sjue, Carl Thomas, Craig Brown, Allison Pottinger, Doug Pottinger, Jennifer Stannard, Hawley MacLean, Beau Welling.

Absent- Dave Carlson, Dave Flippo, Cyndee Johnson, Scott Stevinson, Nick Wellen, Jessica Schultz, Tabitha Peterson.

A quorum constitutes 11 members, 14 are present, there is a quorum present.

Non-Board- Staff- Jenny Biadasz, Tom Doherty, Christy Hering, Terry Kolesar, Gordon Maclean (recording), Kim Nawyn, Rick Patzke, Sandy Robinson. Non-staff- Matt Gamboa (MoPac Elect), Doug Potter, (Washington Elect), Leland Rich, Mark Swandby (Wisconsin Elect).

- Nominations for Chair to succeed David Carlson for the balance of his term ending August
 2016. Jim Pleasants placed Rich Lepping into nomination during the call for nominations.
 Lepping approves of being nominated.
- **3. Election of new Chair:** As Lepping is running unopposed Section 8.13 of the By-Laws apply; MacLean moves to elect Lepping by unanimous consent, second by Stannard. Unanimous approval by voice vote.

4. Comments by Chair-

- A. Chair indicates he will do his best to do the job that he has been asked to do and will strive to build trust and transparency working with the CEO.
- B. Regarding the August meeting, there is Doodle Poll consensus for a meeting either August 7-9 or August 14-16. However there was an overwhelming preference for a teleconference. Chair will meet with the CEO in this regard soon.
- C. Mark Swandby will fill the seat now held by Dave Carlson as temporary representative for Wisconsin starting June 22 until the fall board meeting.
- **5. Brief discussion** took place regarding communications between the board members and the media. The Chair and staff will look into what current media policy is, and until such time as the policy is reviewed, the Chair encourages the Directors to be positive in any communications and stress that we are looking forward.
- **6. Adjournment** Motion for adjournment by Welling, second by MacLean. Unanimous approval by voice vote. Meeting adjourns 3:15pm CDT.